Saturdates

 Dating is fun. Yeah, the first few dates can be a little nerve wracking, but after you create a comfort zone with someone, it becomes fun. Even after you’ve gotten to know someone well, settled into your relationship, and established a pattern, it’s fun to “date” and break that pattern.
I went on two dates this past Saturday: one with my boyfriend, one with my love (best friend, Kate). It was just a nice change to go out of town or leave the house and Netflix, even if it was as simple as a shopping trip.

I started my day with a visit to my local farmer’s market and picked up a handful of sunflowers while listening to a girl play the accordion. I find that even the briefest visits downtown and quick glances at produce and greens can really refresh my morning. To be honest, being out of bed before 11 on the weekend is kind of refreshing in itself.


 Kate and I ventured over to GR and ate lunch at Tom+Chee, a place specializing in tomato soup and grilled cheese, some of our favorite foods. They really do get created with something as simple as a grilled cheese. I didn’t try one, but they are actually known for their grilled cheese donuts. Interesting or just gross? Not sure yet.

We spent the day at the mall, which I find really relaxing (until I get anxious about my spending) with the people watching and window shopping. It was just so nice to not worry about work or home stresses and focus my attention on who I was with and what I was doing in the moment, even if it was something as frivilous as smelling a candle.


We ended our date at Chipotle. I’d say the extra guac was my favorite purchase of the day.

I drove back to Holland and met Alex who’d planned a date for that night. I was told to bring drawing utensils, a book, knitting materials, and a candle, and closed my eyes while he drove to a mystery location. Unfortunately, surprises don’t work well with me for some reason, and Siri oh so rudely announced the mystery destination before we’d left my driveway.

We ended up going to a local beach and watching the sun set on Lake Michigan. All the miscellaneous items I had to bring? To give us the opportunity to fufill some of the many date ideas/plans we’ve made. For example, teaching him to knit [better] and painting a picture together.


And then, corny as hell, he lit the candles and played one of his favorite jazz songs and we danced in the dusk.


And that’s what I love about dates. From grand gestures to gossiping over grilled cheese sandwiches, you get to concentrate your energy on another person and just enjoy being with them and creating new memories.

(Even if your date ends with an angry phone call from your mom telling you to come home.)


xx. Diana

One thought on “Saturdates

Leave a comment